SLHS Summer Excitement

I’m having trouble coming up with something to write about that would be at all instructive or useful, so I’m just going to write about something that I’m really excited about:

This summer I’m going to help my high school coach, Katie Bowen, with conditioning, tryouts, and practices. I helped out last summer too, but I should have more time this summer since I won’t be gone for Victory all the time. This summer is especially exciting too because Katie has recently become the head varsity sideline and competitive coach (I had her for JV sideline and varsity competitive), which also means she’s the program director; I can’t wait to see what changes she makes!

So far Katie’s asked me to come up with a tryout chant and I have words and most of the motions; no, I’m not telling you the words you little steeler! 😉 Tryouts are supposed to be held sometime in June, and I’m hoping I won’t be gone for MSU All-Girl practice when they take place…blah that would suck.

Another thing that sucks is that Grand Haven High School is currently looking for a varsity coach and Fruitport High School is looking for a JV coach and I can’t apply for either of them because I have to go back to East Lansing in the fall. Boo 😦

Anyway, I just can’t wait to start in couple weeks because not only am I involving myself with a program that I love and eventually want to coach, I’ll also be doing all the work outs with the girls to help keep myself in tip-top shape for my new team.

I just really hope that my work schedule at The Hut (that’s Pizza Hut, I’m a server/waitress) doesn’t change and keep me from going to the early morning practices like they often did last year…or maybe I was just too lazy to get up, I don’t remember clearly…

I am a little nervous though because one of the girls that’ll be a senior this coming year came into The Hut the other day and we got to talking and she said that there are only like four girls trying out for sideline varsity that she knows of (that means juniors and seniors because SLHS, as far as I know, has Never moved a younger girl up to varsity), that’s going to be the smallest varsity team I’ve ever heard of, and three of these girls are flyers. So that should be interesting…but then again there are usually some surprises when tryout day actually rolls around.

Sad Day: My little sister, Lacee, is one of the girls that isn’t going to be returning to cheerleading this fall. That girl just can’t find anything she likes. The funny thing is she wanted to be a cheerleader, and was a cheerleader, before me.

Anyway, so yeah, I’m just real excited about getting a little coaching/conditioning combo with people that I absolutely love this summer. 🙂

Comments
One Response to “SLHS Summer Excitement”
  1. Coach Katie says:

    Super excited to have you!! And YES, there will be some changes! Hopefully the girl will like them too!!!

Leave a comment